nanaxmassive.blogg.se

.17 remington rifle
.17 remington rifle







.17 remington rifle
  1. .17 remington rifle full size#
  2. .17 remington rifle full#
  3. .17 remington rifle code#
.17 remington rifle

This cartridge is about maximum capacity for the 17 bore and only a slight increase in velocity has been possible by necking down larger cases.” In his “Handbook for Shooters and Reloader”Īckley stated that, “Experience has shown that the 222 Remington simply necked down without any other change is about the best, and most easily made since it requires no trimming or fire forming. So, he moved on to the 17 Ackley Hornet, 17 Ackley Bee, and eventually the 17/222. Consequently Ackley quickly realized the need for more useful cartridges in 17 caliber. 30 Carbines were still years away from the market. It quickly became obvious that there were no actions that would readily handle the 17 Pee Wee and surplus. Under Creative Commons License: Attributionįollow us: on Twitter | Ammoland on Facebook Read more: https:/ / 2011/ 08/ think-dont-like-wildcat-cartridges/ #ixzz6J1TkY0kT The first cartridge that Ackley made up in 17 caliber was the 17 Pee Wee, a necked down 30 Carbine case. By then O’Neil had lost interest in the project.

.17 remington rifle full#

With the war effort in full swing, Ackley had trouble acquiring the tooling and did not get the barrel made up until 1945. Ackley to make a 17-caliber barrel for him. But as a wild cat it had been around as a 17/222. 17 The 17 Rem first came out in a factory rifle in 1971. Ackley necked down a big verity of calibers to. The 17's have been around for much longer than most think. My happiness with the accuracy of my Remington 700 VSS in 17 Remington is the main reason I would like to acquire the O/P's Rifle. 196" (this was only a 3 shot group made 2 years later to verify point of impact) I will list in chronological order ALL my load test groups (5 shots at 100 yards) sizes with my Rifle. I have a total of about 340 rounds down the barrel of my Remington 700 VSS in 17 Remington and once the barrel was broke in my load testing consisted of only three different charges of two different powders and ONE bullet. Of course I take special care to ONLY test for load development/accuracy on the best of condition days. I assume my Remington 700 VSS in 17 Remington was made with the same reamer as were the others posted here about, and my Rifle shoots splendidly! I have proven this to myself a couple dozens of times over the last 55+ years of handloading/load testing for Rifles - granted I think having a slight jump to the leades of the Rifles rifling often makes it quicker to attain best/better accuracy but again NOT always.ĪNYONE who tries to contrary this, just has not yet had enough trigger time. Just because a bullet has to "jump" more than the shooter/gun owner thinks need be, DOES NOT mean that said firearm will be inaccurate! kind of make the point for me that I was going to remark on. I am aware of the nifty little Remington 700 LVSF's in 17 Remington and other calibers but I prefer the heavier longer barrels for my Varminting needs. I also have a Remington 700 VSF (Varmint Synthetic Fluted) in caliber 17 Remington Fireball that I bought new in 2,007 it is a "blued" Rifle (action/barrel). I did not know this but the "J" lock was installed on some Remington 870's during that time frame as well. I did a quick check on the Remington "J" lock and Remington began use of the "J" lock on Remington 700's in 2,002 and ceased its use in 2,005. The barrel is absolutely Remingtons as their proof markings are there and the caliber and Remington logo are prominent and proper.

.17 remington rifle code#

I went and fetched the Rifle from a gun safe in my gun vault room to ascertain the barrel code date of manufacture.Īnd wouldn't you know it this is the ONLY Remington firearm I own that has NO barrel date code! In fact I only tried one bullet ever in this Rifle and that is the wonderful Berger 25 grain MEF! The original owner was a young farmer from the midwest who bought it then quickly decided it wasn't for him and listed it for sale. 832".Īccording to my loading log book I purchased it used from a member here (IIRC) in April 2,002. The diameter at the muzzle of the stainless barrel is.

.17 remington rifle full size#

Mine has the full size Varmint weight stainless barrel that is 26" long with no fluting. Mtj21: Yes they did - and again they are very rare.









.17 remington rifle